Fall’s Gone Y’all

About a week before thanksgiving I woke up to see a white wonderland outside my window. Where I live in New Hampshire we got about 6-8 inches. School was immediately canceled for all (except the homeschoolers, lucky me!) My cousin came over and we had fun sledding. My back driveway curves down toward the brook and we convinced my grandpa not to plow it for sledding. Afterwards, I curled up with a book and sipped an eggnog latte. My mom has a rule that eggnog is not allowed until after Thanksgiving, but she caved so we got it anyway. People were surprised to get all that snow, but we live in New England, what can you do? I remember one year there was a massive snowstorm on the morning of Thanksgiving. My grandparents were supposed to come up to our house, but we assumed they couldn’t get through the weather. What a surprise it was when they showed up on our doorstep! Although winter does not start officially start until the middle of December, it seems like it is in full swing. I guess that means Mr. Ralph will not be getting out his When Is the Snow All Gone contest for a while. The snow reminded me of the little hill at Mid Vermont that slope down towards the ga-ga pit. I remember my friends and I used to brush all the snow off until we got ice, then slide down on our stomachs like we were penguins.

Now I enjoy reading on snowy afternoons after school is done. I enjoy reading the Spy School and Funjungle novels by Stuart Gibbs, Al Capone Does My Homework by Gennifer Choldenko, and The Thoroughbred series by Joanna Campbell (if you are interested in horses these are for you). I hope that you all are enjoying the snow and staying warm. Merry Christmas and may God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *