Mini Homeschool Lessons

I realized that I have not done a mini homeschool lesson in a while so I will do one on my science chapter I was tested on today. There are there categories of different kinds of rocks. The ones that are formed from lava or magma (melted rock) are called igneous rocks. The three types of igneous rocks are obsidian, pumice, and granite. If you have granite counters in your kitchen it is made from hot lava. The second type of rock is sedimentary rocks. Three kinds are sandstone, limestone, and shale. Limestone rocks are almost like chalk but have different chemical properties than it. The third kind is metamorphic rocks. They include slate and marble. Slate is from shale when shale is pressured so that it changes the chemical makeup to slate. So next time you pick up a rock remember the three different kinds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *